top of page
Search
  • Charlotte Heathcote

Still grieving

I started writing tonight to see if I could get some of my emotions/thoughts out- turns out, my head is mush and I can't make sense of any of it enough to write. So I watched Deadpool instead, and now I'm onto Twilight.


But I did think of this poem I wrote around a month ago, and it rings true for me now. I feel such a mix of emotions- sadness, anger, anxiety, guilt etc. and think that's what I was trying to convey here. I hope it helps anyone else who is grieving, because all of these emotions are normal, which I have to keep reminding myself when it feels so bloody shit all the time.


“I cried myself to sleep last night

I did the night before

You may think I’m okay now

That my pain isn’t so raw

I tried talking out loud to you

I hate getting no reply

I have so many questions to ask

I just need to know why

I need you here to tell me

That everything will be okay

You used to tell me this before

As we got through another day

How dare you tell me we’d get through

When this was not to be

I thought that it would all work out

And now it’s only me

I’m feeling lost and broken

Walking this path alone

I so wish I could talk to you

I could just pick up the phone

So now my love I really need

A sign and guidance from you

It’s the only way I can make it

So please, just help me through”

197 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Seasons, books, living and death

This morning I woke up to a beautiful blanket of snow outside. Usually I’d think “Ah what a pain in the ass”, because it means you can’t go anywhere. BUT, today was different, I have nowhere to go, so

Grief- "what the fuck?"

16/12/20 I've titled this post "what the fuck?" because to me, this summarises my experience of grief so far. Most days I have those moments of just thinking- WHAT THE FUCK? about various things. I'm

Grief, uncertainty & resilience

As ever, I’m not really sure what this post will be about. But I do know writing usually helps. Unfortunately, writing my thesis doesn’t quite have the same effect, and that’s what I should really be

bottom of page