top of page
Search
  • Charlotte Heathcote

Sundays

Sundays always called for endless cups of tea

Staying in bed till late, knowing we had no other place to be

I felt so safe within your arms, cat snuggled in between us

I was so content with life, no need for frills or fuss

Always one last cuddle, before the day began

Plodding downstairs together, to get the bacon in the pan

We moved around each other like clockwork, turned the radio on

Laughing along together and listening to every song

When the coffee was finally brewed, we’d sit down at the table to eat

I loved seeing the smile on your face, as you ate pancakes enough for three

Just to see you happy, my heart would fill with love

Sitting there in peace, feeling I had so much more than enough

In the afternoon we’d take a stroll, we’d maybe grab a coffee

Hand in hand as we walked, looking up out at the trees

Board games in the afternoon, if it were cold you’d light the fire

Snacks and easy TV, feeling sleepy as we began to tire

I’d cook us a hearty meal, feeling glad to see that smile again

You loved my roast potatoes, you’d probably eat about 10

I’d feel a twinge of sadness at having to leave you tomorrow

But it wouldn’t last for long, I wouldn’t feel too much sorrow

For I was truly grateful for every second we spent together

Believing that we had so much time, surely we had forever

We’d talk about the week ahead, listening to our favourite music

Me and you together against the world, a really solid unit

Our day would end on the sofa, a perfect close to the week

Sundays with you were my favourite, and filled with love I’d go to sleep

165 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Seasons, books, living and death

This morning I woke up to a beautiful blanket of snow outside. Usually I’d think “Ah what a pain in the ass”, because it means you can’t go anywhere. BUT, today was different, I have nowhere to go, so

Grief- "what the fuck?"

16/12/20 I've titled this post "what the fuck?" because to me, this summarises my experience of grief so far. Most days I have those moments of just thinking- WHAT THE FUCK? about various things. I'm

Grief, uncertainty & resilience

As ever, I’m not really sure what this post will be about. But I do know writing usually helps. Unfortunately, writing my thesis doesn’t quite have the same effect, and that’s what I should really be

bottom of page