top of page
Search
  • Charlotte Heathcote

The storm

Grieving during a pandemic is like

trying to surf

during a thunderstorm.

You thought you'd just learnt how to ride

before the storm hit

and now every wave

threatens to drown you

to pull you in beneath the deep blue

where you think it might be better after all.

But then, you find yourself gasping for air

and eventually you are

above water again

with the last second of life

in your body.

103 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Seasons, books, living and death

This morning I woke up to a beautiful blanket of snow outside. Usually I’d think “Ah what a pain in the ass”, because it means you can’t go anywhere. BUT, today was different, I have nowhere to go, so

Grief- "what the fuck?"

16/12/20 I've titled this post "what the fuck?" because to me, this summarises my experience of grief so far. Most days I have those moments of just thinking- WHAT THE FUCK? about various things. I'm

Grief, uncertainty & resilience

As ever, I’m not really sure what this post will be about. But I do know writing usually helps. Unfortunately, writing my thesis doesn’t quite have the same effect, and that’s what I should really be

bottom of page